Call Your Daughter Home

Written by:
Deb Spera

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
57
Narrator
22
Release Date
June 2019
Duration
11 hours 8 minutes
Summary
Featured on Oprah’s Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It’s 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude’s aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

“Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company.”
— O, The Oprah Magazine

“A mesmerizing Southern tale…Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored.”
— Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Valerie P.

A compelling book, portraying a period of time in the south. She beautifully ties three lives together and you see their strength and love rise up against the social norms of the time. I’ve listened to this a couple times and read the paperback. Definitely recommend this tender but powerful book.

Profile Avatar
Robbie G.

I thought I was reading a different author. I am so glad I found this book and this author and the three narrators. The title was perfect. The ending not expected. What a lovely story. This story has so many messages. To me is was people who look to help others even in their trials bless all those around them. But sometimes we must wait longer than we want for those blessings.

Profile Avatar
Katherine D.

Well written and well read. Rich character development and contrasting of the forces of good and evil in the Old South.

Profile Avatar
Susan R

Really good book! Kept my interest the entire time, great characters, and narrators were fantastic!

Profile Avatar
Shirley B.

Excellent! I was drawn into the characters wanting them all to WIN!!!

Profile Avatar
Silaws

Really loved all 3 narrators and tying together of story lines

Profile Avatar
Nancy P.

Call Your Daughter Home was such a surprise—one of the best books I’ve come across that I had not even heard of. For anyone who liked the writing of When the Crawdads Sing (but hated the geographical inconsistency), this is an ideal next read. \r\n

Profile Avatar
Madeleine W.

I loved it.

Profile Avatar
Latoya L.

The characters and they way the were described, brought them to life in more ways than one. I could easily see the story as I read. this would make an awesome movie. It was full of grace, love, forgiveness, death, and perseverance. It wasn't what I expected but glad I read it. #Book39of2020 #bookworm #whatsnext

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Took a few chapters to get into it, then I loved it more and more up to the end!

Profile Avatar
Sharon H.

Not as great as before we were yours but still a great book.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.99
View Cart