Classic Letters Box Set: A three-volume collection from the private letters of three distinguished literary figures, presented in a dramatised setting.

Abridged Audiobook

Release Date
May 2022
7 hours 15 minutes
A three-volume collection of moving letters from the private writings of three of the most popular writers of the 19th century, presented in a dramatised setting.

“Frequently indiscreet and occasionally acerbic or heartless, Jane Austen’s letters are always engaging. Fiona Shaw gives a sensitive reading” (Daily Telegraph)

“If you want to see into man’s soul, start with this self-portrait. It’s magnificent” (The Guardian)

“These provide a welcome addition to our collection of Bronteana... the reading is sympathetic and lively and makes most compelling listening.” (Bronte Society)

The Letters of JANE AUSTEN performed by FIONA SHAW CBE
Born at Steventon in 1775, the daughter of a Hampshire clergyman, Jane Austen was the youngest of seven children. It is to her elder sister Cassandra that most of her surviving letters are written. They are at times both candid and wickedly indiscreet, detailing the joys and sorrows of her large family, providing us with an insight into the life of one of England’s great novelists.

The Letters of LORD BYRON performed by ROBERT POWELL
George Gordon Byron was born in 1788, the son of the profligate "Mad Jack" Byron and succeeded to the title in 1798 moving to the family seat of Newstead Abbey. He attended Harrow School and Trinity College, Cambridge where he proved to be a poor scholar, preferring boxing, the low life and poetry, publishing his first volume of poems in 1806.

The Letters of CHARLOTTE BRONTË performed by IMOGEN STUBBS
The brief and tragic life of Charlotte Brontë (1816-1855) is told through the beautiful and passionate letters written by Charlotte to her best friend Ellen Nussey.

Also available as part of the CLASSIC LETTERS & JOURNALS BOX SET, a seven-volume edition containing some of the most fascinating journals and letters to have been written in the last two hundred and fifty years.

Abridged: Alan Drury & Lissa Demetriou
Music: Nina Humphreys
Director: Alan Drury
Producer: Stewart Richards

© & ℗ 2022 Mr Punch Audiobooks Ltd
1 book added to cart
View Cart