D. H. Lawrence: A BBC Radio Collection: 14 dramatisations and radio readings including Lady Chatterley’s Lover, Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow and Women in Love

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
August 2019
20 hours 38 minutes
Dramatisations and readings of selected works by DH Lawrence – plus a radio play by Dan Allum and two bonus documentaries exploring Lawrence’s life and writings

Crowned ‘the greatest imaginative novelist of our generation’ by EM Forster, DH Lawrence has an undisputed place in England's canon of great authors. In this wide-ranging collection, dramatisations and readings of some of his major works are brought together, exploring themes such as romantic love and sexual desire, individual freedom, class division, war, the beauty of nature and the ugliness of industrialisation.

This rich and varied anthology contains the radio productions of five of Lawrence’s classic novels, and nine short stories and novellas. It includes: Goose Fair, The Christening, Daughters of the Vicar, Her Turn, Love Among the Haystacks, The Shades of Spring, Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow, Women in Love, The Fox, The Ladybird, Kangaroo, Rawdon’s Roof and Lady Chatterley’s Lover.

Also featured is an original radio drama by Dan Allum, The Gypsy (inspired by Lawrence’s The Virgin and the Gypsy), while two bonus radio documentaries – Great Lives and Michael Rosen: On the Trail of DH Lawrence – provide further insight into the inner life of the controversial author.

Due to the archive nature of these recordings, sound quality may vary.
With thanks to Keith Wickham, Greg Linden and Roy McMillan.
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
View Cart