Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (19)

Narrator Rating (2)

Dear Mrs. Bird

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Aj Pearce

Narrated By: Anna Popplewell

Date: July 2018

Duration: 9 hours 49 minutes

Summary:

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman’s Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

“Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy AJ Pearce’s debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women’s lives in wartime Britain” (Library Journal)—a love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. “Headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight” (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is “funny and poignant…about the strength of women and the importance of friendship” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).

Genres:

  • Maggie M.

    I enjoyed the book, it was an interesting story with a WWII backdrop. A tale of two friends in their early 20's and the trials and tribulations they faced as young women in London. The characters were charismatic and funny. I enjoyed the spirit that came through the pages. The narrator was excellent, my favorite so far!

  • Margie C.

    What a wonderful example of the spirit of humanity during a very difficult time... with topics that apply today! Love the characters’

Dear Mrs. Bird

by Aj Pearce

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Dear Mrs. Bird, Aj Pearce
Dear Mrs. Bird, Aj Pearce
This title is due for release on July 3, 2018.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Dear Mrs. Bird, Aj Pearce
This title is due for release on July 3, 2018
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Dear Mrs. Bird, Aj Pearce
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Dear Mrs. Bird, Aj Pearce

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.