The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

Written by:
Annie Murphy Paul
Narrated by:
Annie Murphy Paul

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
Narrator
Release Date
June 2021
Duration
11 hours 25 minutes
Summary
A New York Times Editors' Choice
A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021
A New York Times Notable Book

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains—in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships

Use your head.
 
That’s what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we’ve got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of “extra-neural” resources—the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us— can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.
 
The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors—from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro—have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner’s Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman’s Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.
The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain
This title is due for release on June 8, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain
This title is due for release on June 8, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.99
View Cart