Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (47)

Narrator Rating (13)

Firekeeper's Daughter

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Angeline Boulley

Narrated By: Isabella Star Lablanc

Date: March 2021

Duration: 14 hours 13 minutes

Summary:

'Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook...Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed.' -- AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection
An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection
An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection
A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

'The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis...It’s a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc’s sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in.' -- Booklist, starred review

'Expert narration from Isabella Star LeBlanc, a Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota, brings authenticity to Daunis’s joy, anger, fear, and grief while providing distinct voices for the supporting cast, including the tribal elders. LeBlanc’s captivating voice draws readers in, expressing every mundane, sweet, heartbreaking, and life-threatening moment.' -- School Library Journal, starred review

Genres:

  • Traci P.

    Great book!

  • Mrs. Elliott

    Was so impressed by the narrator’s handling the language. Incredible story. My husband grew up in the area so I knew many places being mentioned.

  • Chris A.

    Very captivating.

  • Maya L.

    Fuckinng incredible story

Firekeeper's Daughter

by Angeline Boulley

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Firekeeper's Daughter, Angeline Boulley
Firekeeper's Daughter, Angeline Boulley
This title is due for release on March 16, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Firekeeper's Daughter, Angeline Boulley
This title is due for release on March 16, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Firekeeper's Daughter, Angeline Boulley
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Firekeeper's Daughter, Angeline Boulley

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.