Gay Bar: Why We Went Out

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Jeremy Atherton Lin

Narrated By: Jeremy Atherton Lin

Date: February 2021

Duration: 7 hours 52 minutes

Summary:

For readers of Hilton Als and Maggie Nelson, a brilliantly evocative fusion of cultural criticism, history, and memoir telling the story of the gay bar, arguably on the brink of extinction.
In the era of Grindr and same-sex marriage, gay bars are closing down at an alarming rate. What, then, was the gay bar? Set between Los Angeles, San Francisco, and London, Gay Bar takes us on a time-traveling, transatlantic bar hop through pulsing nightclubs, after-work dives, hardcore leather bars, gay cafes, and saunas, asking what these places meant to their original clientele, what they meant to the author as a younger man, and what they mean now.

In prose as exuberant as a hit of poppers and as dazzling as a disco ball, Atherton Lin conjures the strobing lights and the throbbing music, the smell and taste of tangles of male bodies, the rough and tender anonymous encounters, the costumes and categories--twink, top, masc, queen, tweaker, tourist, voyeur, exhibitionist--all the while tracking the protean aesthetics of masculinity and gayness. Along the way, he invites us to go beyond the simplified gay bar liberation mythology of Stonewall and enter the many other battlefields in the war to carve out space in which to exist, express, and love as a gay man.

Elegiac, sexy, and sparkling with wry wit, Gay Bar is at once a serious critical inquiry into how we construct ourselves through the spaces we inhabit and an epic night out to remember.

Genres:

  • Vilmar A.

    I liked it - at times the historical references had me drifting off.

Gay Bar: Why We Went Out

by Jeremy Atherton Lin

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Gay Bar: Why We Went Out, Jeremy Atherton Lin
Gay Bar: Why We Went Out, Jeremy Atherton Lin
This title is due for release on February 9, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Gay Bar: Why We Went Out, Jeremy Atherton Lin
This title is due for release on February 9, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Gay Bar: Why We Went Out, Jeremy Atherton Lin
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Gay Bar: Why We Went Out, Jeremy Atherton Lin

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.