Written By: Kathleen Glasgow

Narrated By: Julia Whelan, Kathleen Glasgow

Date: August 2016

Duration: 10 hours 43 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls 'a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page.'
 
   Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
   Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
  A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.


Includes an Author's Note read by the Author


'Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night.'-Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

'Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance. . . . An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience.'--Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

'A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing . . . I want every girl to read Girl In Pieces.'-Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners

“A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation….The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together.'—Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart and Abandon Me 
 
“Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You’re so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immersed in hoping she does.”—Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter and You’re Not You

'Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive. Charlie Davis' complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety.'-Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love

'Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient.  Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human.'-Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times bestseller Dear Committee Members

Genres:

  • Pam Obermeyer

    I really like the book. I think it would be good for teenage girls.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Dahlia F.

    This book has been sitting on my shelf in my office at home for over a year. I have stared at it, the pink cover and crossed out words staring back at me, and I have wanted to open the cover and begin Charlie’s journey with her, only I never found the courage. Stumbling onto Girl in Pieces here, on Audiobooks, made it easier to “read” a book difficult to otherwise take-in. There is so much being said about girls and pain and abuse and sex and love and hope and relationships and family and art and most of all, above it all, what rises up and through the beautiful voice of Julia Wheelan and the emotional words of Kathleen Glasgow, is the idea that none of us can make it alone. We need a circle, a family - given or chosen - to help us, guide us, support us, love us.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Jacqueline B

    Definitely need a sequel...finished a few days ago and cannot stop thinking about these characters and the directions their lives might take after the end of this book. Narration was on point too!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Katie Reed

    Really enjoyed this book. I wished that it had been longer.

  • Ariadna Meza Hernandez

    Really well written for the audience intended. It would have been so cool to have the guys be done by a male voice.

  • Tatiana urban

    the book was a B+. I just wanted to here more!!! there should be a sequel. Absolutely Loved The Narrator! ! if I were a Octopus, it would be 8 thumbs up!! I look for Autio books read by Julia Whalen.

Girl in Pieces

by Kathleen Glasgow

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Girl in Pieces, Kathleen Glasgow
Girl in Pieces, Kathleen Glasgow
This title is due for release on August 30, 2016.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Girl in Pieces, Kathleen Glasgow
This title is due for release on August 30, 2016
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Girl in Pieces, Kathleen Glasgow
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Girl in Pieces, Kathleen Glasgow

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.