Idylls of the King

Written by:
Alfred Lord Tennyson
Narrated by:
Margaret Melosh

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
June 2019
9 hours 44 minutes
Idylls of the King is a series of twelve narrative poems which recite the legend of King Arthur, his knights, his love for Guinevere and her tragic betrayal of him, and the rise and fall of Arthur's kingdom. The whole work recounts Arthur's attempt and failure to lift up mankind and create a perfect kingdom, from his coming to power to his death at the hands of the traitor Mordred. Individual poems detail the deeds of various knights, including Lancelot, Geraint, Galahad, and Balin and Balan, and also Merlin and the Lady of the Lake. There is little transition between Idylls, but the central figure of Arthur links all the stories. Tennyson's metaphors of nature are derived from observations of his own surroundings, collected over the course of several years.
Browse By Category
1 book added to cart
View Cart