Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (352)

Narrator Rating (99)

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: V. E. Schwab

Narrated By: Julia Whelan

Date: October 2020

Duration: 17 hours 10 minutes

Summary:

'[Narrator Julia] Whelan's performance is unforgettable in this darkly romantic fantasy about one young woman cursed always to be forgotten...Her depiction of the darkness is smooth with a low cadence, capturing listeners' attention and their heart strings.' -- Booklist

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

'This epic story, spanning three centuries and two continents, is expertly narrated by Julia Whelan...This is a transporting listen, and these characters will stick with you for a long time.' -- Bookpage, starred review

'Julia Whelan's steady rhythm perfectly conveys the ups and downs of Addie LaRue's life, which take place over 300 years...Her voice fits each moment, making Addie's journey both sobering at times and unforgettable.' -- AudioFile Magazine

Genres:

  • Bruce R C.

    Magnificent. Many books are referred to as “page turners,” suggesting that you can’t wait to see what next happens. Addie LaRue allows you to celebrate the page you’re reading, loving and living every moment and allowing you to fully experience the journey. This is one of my all time favorites. My biggest problem is not knowing what next to read that could possibly withstand comparison to this phenomenal book.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  • Natalie T.

    New favorite! Beautifully written and the narrator brought the soul of this book to life! Well done!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  • Erica R.

    Great premise, plot goes at an easy pace, a bit light in the writing, which is a perfect listen for housework or a commute. BUT I almost gave up on it when two huge historical errors pierced the integrity of story. AUTHOR, PLEASE NOTE: Sacre Coeur was not built til late 19th century, and Vermeer painted The Girl with the Pearl Earring (not Rembrandt).

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Ruthy B.

    A great story, well written. Loved the moments in different time periods.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Tracy C.

    Interesting premise, the writing is lovely and i couldn’t wait to hear more.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Eric C.

    less predictable then the typical sell your soul story. a very good read/listen.

  • Anonymous

    I enjoyed being immersed in Addie’s story and universe, as well as Henry’s. I would’ve liked to know more about Luc: his origin, his drive, his sphere of influence. The ending was okay. I understood why it was the way it was, but I felt it was a bit light.

  • Susan Rollenhagen

    So well written and entertaining. Definitely recommend!

  • Kimberly M.

    I thought the book sounded really interesting from the description. But like other people have mentioned it could’ve been a lot shorter the middle just drag drag drag. The narration was good but the story was kind of boring and I didn’t wanna listen to it. But since I had to pay for it I listen to it anyways. The ending was too rushed and seem like they could’ve added some more to it. I hate when they do that Hurry up let’s get this finished endings.

  • Carol M.

    Interesting take on an ages old philosophical question. I found it intriguing to explore the ramifications of her choice and how it played out over the centuries.

Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

by V. E. Schwab

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
This title is due for release on October 6, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
This title is due for release on October 6, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.