Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's 'Learned'

Written by:
Lena Dunham
Narrated by:
Lena Dunham

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
55
Narrator
18
Release Date
September 2014
Duration
6 hours 11 minutes
Summary
For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham—the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls—as one of the brightest and most original writers working today.
 
“If I can take what I’ve learned in this life and make one treacherous relationship or degrading job easier for you, perhaps even prevent you from becoming temporarily vegan, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile. This book contains stories about wonderful nights with terrible boys and terrible days with wonderful friends, about ambition and the two existential crises I had before the age of twenty. About fashion and its many discontents. About publicly sharing your body, having to prove yourself in a meeting full of fifty-year-old men, and the health fears (tinnitus, lamp dust, infertility) that keep me up at night. I’m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you with this book,  but also my future glory in having stopped you from trying an expensive juice cleanse or having the kind of sexual encounter where you keep your sneakers on. No, I am not a sexpert, a psychologist, or a registered dietician. I am not a married mother of three or the owner of a successful hosiery franchise. But I am a girl with a keen interest in self-actualization, sending hopeful dispatches from the front lines of that struggle.”
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Alicia M

Very similar to her show on HBO, Girls. Delightful and great to listen to when you're having a bad day.

Profile Avatar
Kathryn Hamilton

Absolutely loved it. Thought it was very hilarious and inspiring. Great to hear it through her own voice too.

Profile Avatar
Yeshenia CHavez

When 30 minutes of the book is listening to her read a food journal, you realize not only does counting calories suck but this book does as well. There is so much dull and pointless material I feel like the author said "hey I'm slightly famous , I should write a book", and here we are listening. Very disappointed, can't believe this was listed as a must read.

Profile Avatar
Tesh Kosowan

Yeah this is so boring, she makes my life seem more interesting. I can't be bothered to finish this.

Profile Avatar
Matthew Waltz

Fantastic read! Funny AND smart. I highly recommend it!

Profile Avatar
Sara Taylor

Love Lena Dunham, great book! Remind me of talking with an old friend.

Profile Avatar
Chris DiPetta

Worthless, I want my credit back. I sincerely hope she is not representative of her generation.

Profile Avatar
Megan Ahearn

This autobiography is all over the place. The author jumps around so much that it takes away from her message about what she learned during her experiences in life so far. She comes off as a spoiled sociopath who doesn't know how to take responsibility for her own actions. This could be due to heavy prescription meds from the time she was a young child as well as seeing psychologists from the time she was in the 3rd grade. Growing up is tough for everyone but it's a time to learn what you believe in

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$20.00
View Cart