The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot: A Novel

Written by:
Marianne Cronin
Narrated by:
Rebecca Benson , Sheila Reid

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
30
Narrator
13
Release Date
June 2021
Duration
10 hours 53 minutes
Summary
“A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life’s obstacles and find a way to survive. . . . It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light. Lenni and Margot are fine companions for all our springtime journeys.”—Harper’s Bazaar, UK 


A charming, fiercely alive and disarmingly funny debut novel in the vein of John Green, Rachel Joyce, and Jojo Moyes—a brave testament to the power of living each day to the fullest, a tribute to the stories that we live, and a reminder of our unlimited capacity for friendship and love.

An extraordinary friendship. A lifetime of stories. 

Seventeen-year-old Lenni Pettersson lives on the Terminal Ward at the Glasgow Princess Royal Hospital. Though the teenager has been told she’s dying, she still has plenty of living to do. Joining the hospital’s arts and crafts class, she meets the magnificent Margot, an 83-year-old, purple-pajama-wearing, fruitcake-eating rebel, who transforms Lenni in ways she never imagined.

As their friendship blooms, a world of stories opens for these unlikely companions who, between them, have been alive for one hundred years. Though their days are dwindling, both are determined to leave their mark on the world. With the help of Lenni’s doting palliative care nurse and Father Arthur, the hospital’s patient chaplain, Lenni and Margot devise a plan to create one hundred paintings showcasing the stories of the century they have lived—stories of love and loss, of courage and kindness, of unexpected tenderness and pure joy.

Though the end is near, life isn’t quite done with these unforgettable women just yet.

Delightfully funny and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet ultimately uplifting, The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot reminds us of the preciousness of life as it considers the legacy we choose to leave, how we influence the lives of others even after we’re gone, and the wonder of a friendship that transcends time.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Linda M.

The narrator’s accent kept me listening to this delightful story of this young girl and her older friend. I very much enjoyed her confrontational attitude, especially to the priest and her broken bible and fairy tales . It was heartwarming.

Profile Avatar
Sharon J.

This was the best book I have ever listened to. I have listened to over a hundred books now and the narrators were absolutely wonderful. The story was absolutely beautiful and I hated having to turn it off to return to real life. If I could give more than 5 stars for story and narrators this would be the time.

Profile Avatar
lilmissjemrio

This a beautiful story about friendship that will tug at your heartstrings. Loved the narrator’s accents.

Profile Avatar
Gina M.

A tender-hearted journey into the lives of 2 women facing terminal illness. A beautiful story weaving a mix of quirky characters seeking to touch the lives of those in their path and leave a legacy of love.

Profile Avatar
Cecily C.

I enjoy the accents of the narrators and the story was rich.

Profile Avatar
Connie B.

Fantastic story even if so sad. Never want to stop listening until the very end.

Profile Avatar
Valerie P.

Simply a lovely book. The author has a tender, yet direct, way, of addressing large life issues.

Profile Avatar
Bianca1976

Very sweet book. A little sad at times but I really enjoyed it. the narrators were awesome. They made the book even better for me!

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.99
View Cart