Give the gift of audiobooks this season with a prepaid gift subscription Shop Gifts

The Portsmouth Murders


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
75
Narrator
23
Release Date
January 2023
Duration
6 hours 0 minutes
Summary
The game of cat and mouse begins...

Following an eight month suspension for gross misconduct, Detective Inspector Andy Horton returns to his job after the charges are dropped, but the stain on his career and personal life persists.

When Horton stumbles across a naked corpse, brutally bludgeoned, he sets out to find the killer. And while his colleagues want him off the case, fate has other plans.

As a second body surfaces, chilling similarities send shivers down Horton's spine - is he the killer's next target?

A gripping detective mystery perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Joy Ellis, and Rachel McLean.

The Portsmouth Murders © 2023 Pauline Rowson
THE DETECTIVE
Abandoned as a child, DI Andy Horton grew up in a children’s home. Now he lives onboard his yacht in Southsea Marina. He rides a Harley-Davidson and never wears a suit or tie — unless it’s to go to court. He’s an instinctive copper and a man of contrasts, which often lands him in trouble with his bosses. He has a desperate need to belong, and yet is always just on the outside. Self-contained and afraid to show his feelings, but also a risk-taker that seeks justice.

THE SETTING
Portsmouth boasts a vibrant waterfront, a diverse multicultural population, an international port, a historic dockyard, and is home of the Royal Navy. Portsmouth Harbour is one of the busiest in the world — and one of the best places to hide a body, it seems. Set against the backdrop of the sea, the Solent area of Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight is every detective’s worst nightmare. The sea is ever-changing and often the best clues get swept away by the tide.
Pauline Rowson is the author of twenty-four gripping, fast-paced, atmospheric crime novels including the popular SOLENT MURDER MYSTERY series featuring the rugged and troubled DI Andy Horton. She is a member of the Crime Writers' Association and the Society of Authors.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Kenneth D.

This was a VIP book my and enjoyed it very much! I could not figure out the complicated plot until the very end. Narrator was vey good! I will explore other books in this series!

Profile Avatar
Patrick M.

I enjoyed this book. Not sure if I would read more of this authors work however.

Profile Avatar
Chris H.

Good book

Profile Avatar
Ronda W.

O.k o.k. Thought it went on about his life over and over and not enough about the story

Profile Avatar
James M.

An interesting storyline almost ruined by the author’s over-indulgent detours into psychology. The narrator salvaged this book.

Profile Avatar
Scott Johnson

The narrator did a great job and held my interest. The story seemed a little incomplete, almost like the author hurried to wrap everything up. I will give the author another chance, though.

Profile Avatar
Bob T.

Enjoyable and an easy listen. Very human.

Profile Avatar
Michael Hayes

Good book with a good storyline. I easily got invested in the characters. Narration was top notch. Definitely recommend!

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$14.99
View Cart