The Push: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel)

Written by:
Ashley Audrain
Narrated by:
Marin Ireland

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
231
Narrator
82
Release Date
January 2021
Duration
8 hours 38 minutes
Summary
A Good Morning America Book Club Pick | A New York Times bestseller!

“Utterly addictive.” —Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

“Hooks you from the very first page and will have you racing to get to the end.”—Good Morning America

A tense, page-turning psychological drama about the making and breaking of a family—and a woman whose experience of motherhood is nothing at all what she hoped for—and everything she feared

Ashley Audrain's second novel, The Whispers, is on sale now

Blythe Connor is determined that she will be the warm, comforting mother to her new baby Violet that she herself never had.

But in the thick of motherhood's exhausting early days, Blythe becomes convinced that something is wrong with her daughter—she doesn't behave like most children do.

Or is it all in Blythe's head? Her husband, Fox, says she's imagining things. The more Fox dismisses her fears, the more Blythe begins to question her own sanity, and the more we begin to question what Blythe is telling us about her life as well.

Then their son Sam is born—and with him, Blythe has the blissful connection she'd always imagined with her child. Even Violet seems to love her little brother. But when life as they know it is changed in an instant, the devastating fall-out forces Blythe to face the truth.

For fans of Verity and We Need to talk about Kevin, The The Push is a tour de force you will read in a sitting, an utterly immersive novel that will challenge everything you think you know about motherhood, about what we owe our children, and what it feels like when women are not believed.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Rita F.

Good read I cried and I laughed a little.Good charachters

Profile Avatar
Scott S.

It took awhile to get me hooked, but the end was fantastic!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Such a depressing book. I can’t believe I made it to the end.

Profile Avatar
Calvin B.

This book was depressing AF!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I had read mixed reviews on this book prior to reading, but I genuinely loved this book. It’s choppy and sometimes you have to re-read a section to make sure you didn’t miss something, but I actually love that about it! The way the author describes things is not like any other person would. It made me think about things I never had, like the peeling paint off of a road. I could FEEL this book as I read it. So much so that I began to wonder if I was a crazy mother. (I’m not. lol) This book was definitely worth the read and this Narrator did an excellent job capturing the essence of the story.

Profile Avatar
Saba A.

Brace yourself! Heavy! But amazing

Profile Avatar
Heather P.

Awesome. Great read. Highly recommend. One of the best books I’ve read

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Started this book without knowing much about the plot and was immediately hooked. The book is dark and there are very few moments of relief but it is beautifully written. You really feel inside the mind of the characters and the narrator was great. The story itself is deep and will keep you needing to know more.

Profile Avatar
Cindy Lou

So dark, but so good!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Absolutely loved this thriller.

Profile Avatar
Lisa J.

Despite the sad story, this book had me hooked from start to finish. I wish the ending wasn't so abrupt and there was an epilogue at the end.

Profile Avatar
Brittany R.

Absolutely LOVED The Push! The narrator’s voice was also great and I feel like it fit the main character perfectly. It kept me entertained, it made me sad, laugh, and keep listening!! Highly recommend!!

Profile Avatar
Alyson M.

As I was reading it took a little while to hook me but once it did I didn’t want to stop reading. Just know that the beginning is a little slow but it’s worth the read. The ending completely shocked me. I knew the ending would happen but I thought it would happen earlier in the book. I really wish there was a second book or even just a little more to the end of the book. The narrator was awesome and it had a wide range of characters.

Profile Avatar
Diane Z.

Took me a minute to get into it, but loved it once I did!

Profile Avatar
Leslie C.

This audiobook was so addicting! I couldn’t wait to listen when I had the chance. I was sad when it was over. I look forward to listening to The Whispers…

Profile Avatar
Savannah S.

This was such a gripping, immersive book. I loved it. I only wish there were more of it.

Profile Avatar
Lindsay L.

Incredibly well written and narrated. I didn’t want to turn off the car or stop walking so I could hear just one more chapter each time.

Profile Avatar
Margie C.

Could not put this book down! Narrator did a great job! Please tell me there will be a sequel!

Profile Avatar
Cheryl P.

Wow...just wow

Profile Avatar
Kimberly Lynn F.

Great book.

Profile Avatar
Melissa S.

This book was misery at every turn. And that’s coming from a realist. I had to stop listening by hour 4.

Profile Avatar
Mary F.

This book is amazing! Hooked me in at the first chapter!

Profile Avatar
Latoya L.

Whew chile....this book here. This book had me on edge from the beginning and I hated how it left me hanging, Ughhhh. #Book23of2021 #bookworm #whatsnext

Profile Avatar
Jacqueline E.

A revival of THE BAD SEED only better. Well done. One of the best books I’ve read on the truth about motherhood. She expresses the rollercoaster of emotions involved beautifully. Nice twist at the end.

Profile Avatar
Deborah N.

A tough read for most mothers. A sad story. The narrator was outstanding I am thankful my parents loved me unconditionally. Now my 4 children love their children and parent like they experienced through my example. Not Every child is that fortunate Deb N

Profile Avatar
Marni K.

Such a great book! Would sit in my car in the driveway to hear just one more chapter!

Profile Avatar
Rose D.

I thought the story was only dealing with post-partum depression, & women who just should NOT have been mothers...but to my pleasant surprise, we had a "bad seed" scenario to contend with as well! Interesting turn of events!! I didn't care for the "2nd person" narrative.

Profile Avatar
Kirsten B.

Damn. That was good.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$20.00
View Cart