Scenes of Clerical Life

Written by:
George Eliot
Narrated by:
Bruce Pirie

Unabridged Audiobook

Release Date
September 2016
15 hours 55 minutes
Scenes of Clerical Life, which appeared in book form in 1858 (after serial publication in the previous year), was the first published fiction by George Eliot, the pen name for Mary Anne Evans. It consists of three novellas based on the lives of country clergymen and their communities. These characters interest Eliot not for their theology - she had abandoned conventional Christian belief - but for their humanity. In these stories, we find the earliest signs of the narrative voice, the humanism, and the realism that would make George Eliot one of the greatest novelists of the 1800s. (Introduction by Bruce Pirie)
Browse By Category
Profile Avatar
Peter S.

Bruce Pirie performs a marvellous job of narrating around 16 hours of text. I had forgotten the enjoyment and depths of wisdom that I encountered when I read "Scenes of Clerical Life" many years ago, and Bruce's audio book brought all of this to life again. Thank you.

1 book added to cart
View Cart