Scott of the Antarctic: The Diary of Captain Scott performed by EDWARD FOX OBE in a dramatised setting

Abridged Audiobook

Release Date
May 2022
2 hours 18 minutes
Scott of the Antarctic: The Diary of Captain Scott performed by EDWARD FOX in a dramatised setting

“One to consider for a winter jaunt is Edward Fox’s stiff-upper-lip reading of Scott’s Last Journey.” (The Spectator)

“The audio’s editors have made a good selection, from the courageous good cheer and sea shanties at the beginning to the last entries, blizzard-bound in a tent 11 miles from the next depot.” (Sunday Times)

In 1911 Captain Robert Falcon Scott went back to the huge, frozen wasteland of the Antarctic with the intention of reaching the South Pole, by a long and terribly arduous trek across the ice. On finally reaching the pole, Scott and his comrades were devastated to find that they had been beaten by the Norwegian explorer Amundsen. With temperatures of minus 30, they began their slow journey back to their base. Coming within eleven miles of safety, they finally succumbed to the elements and they were found eight months later frozen to death. Captain Scott’s diary was discovered under his shoulder, stored inside a little wallet...

“Had we lived, I should have had a tale to tell of the hardihood, endurance, and courage of my companions which would have stirred the heart of every Englishman. These rough notes and our dead bodies must tell the tale...”

Also available as part of the CLASSIC LETTERS & JOURNALS BOX SET, a seven-volume edition.
• The Letters & Journals of Lord Nelson with CHARLES DANCE OBE
• The Letters of Charlotte Bronte with IMOGEN STUBBS
• Scott of the Antarctic with EDWARD FOX OBE
• The Highland Journals of Queen Victoria with VIRGINIA McKENNA OBE
• The Letters of Lord Byron with ROBERT POWELL
• The Letters of Jane Austen with FIONA SHAW CBE
• The Journals of Dorothy Wordsworth with JENNY AGUTTER OBE

Abridged: Guy Fithen
Music: Robert Rigby
Director: Guy Fithen
Producer: Michael Cameron & Stewart Richards

© & ℗ 2022 Mr Punch Audiobooks Ltd
1 book added to cart
View Cart