The Third Wife

Written by:
Lisa Jewell
Narrated by:
Joe Jameson

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
107
Narrator
34
Release Date
July 2018
Duration
9 hours 23 minutes
Summary
In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide? At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by this riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
KateinSD

Love this author. A great story of questioning how truly well we know ourselves and the ones around us. Great narration too.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Creative entertaining but story line a bit too contrived and wrapped up all nice and tidy. At the end my sympathies lay with the younger children who were masterfully narrated as well as poor Mia.

Profile Avatar
Annie

Complicated family, good story.

Profile Avatar
Hilary R.

Beautifully written. Jewell has two distinctive styles that are very different - the psychological suspense and, as this one is, the sensitive observation of complex relationships, high she does with both honesty and tenderness. She always manages to strike the right tone of dialogue, no matter the age or gender, which is such a skill. She never makes children saccharine sweet, but deep and authentic. An accolade too for the narrator, who captures the many different characters so naturally.

Profile Avatar
Veronica Noren Warren

Narrator was amazing! Another great story by Lisa Jewell. I'm hooked. On to the next one!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Narrator was fantastic!

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

It dragged at the beginning, didn’t pick up til the end. Narrator was so so.

Profile Avatar
Margaret D.

The ending of this book was very sweet but the first 80% was hard to get thru. Kinda boring and I did not like the narrator. Would not recommend.

Profile Avatar
Nadia B.

I really liked this book! Recommending it. It was an easy listen. Couldn’t put it down.

Profile Avatar
Lauren E

A really good listen. I have enjoyed every Lisa Jewell novel. Worth the credit.

Profile Avatar
Carol G.

This was a good story. It brings true value to understanding how our often selfish decisions affect others. It is definitely worth the listen. The narrator was GREAT!

Profile Avatar
Cookie

I didn’t love or hate this book. A pretty forgettable read I think.

Profile Avatar
Heidi W.

Pretty Good book but felt slow to me, took some effort to finish it.

Profile Avatar
Cassandra S.

It was hard to get into and there wasn’t much to the plot.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Just okay.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

I usually enjoy Lisa Jewell’s books but this one was hard to get in to. The story was okay but I really disliked the main male character.

Profile Avatar
Sofia R

so slow and boring, even for a rewards book, it was a difficult listen.

Profile Avatar
Linda M.

I enjoy this author very much and felt that this novel is as good as any that I have read by her. The plot keeps the listener/reader guessing, and it has the added plus of featuring a male character who grows in self-awareness as the book progresses - a change from simply featuring a male who is full of flaws and never develops any further. I like Lisa Jewell's writing, also, because she draws the characters so well. The narration was faultless - a great job!

Profile Avatar
Fayelle

Ah, there's the Lisa Jewell I know and love. So entertaining, had me all over the map with guessing. The beginning goes a smidge long, but just as I was like, "Am I getting bored?" bang, the first real kicker, and off we went.It's not a mind-blowing piece of work, but it's highly entertaining.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

The narrator was great. The story wasn’t much of a thriller or mystery, more of a story about a dysfunctional family.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$24.99
View Cart