This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America

A free trial credit cannot be used on this title.

Unabridged Audiobook

This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America, Jack Shuler

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating

Narrator Rating

Written By: Jack Shuler

Narrated By: Miles Meili

Date: November 2021

Duration: 8 hours 15 minutes

Summary:

For readers of Dopesick and Dreamland, journalist Jack Shuler explores the current addiction crisis as a human rights problem fostered by poverty and inadequate health care in this “insightful look at how the issues in Ohio affect the rest of the country” (Cosmopolitan, A Best Nonfiction Book of the Year).

Tainted drug supplies, inadequate civic responses, and prevailing negative opinions about people who use drugs, the poor, and those struggling with mental health issues lead to thousands of preventable deaths each year while politicians are slow to adopt effective policies. Putting themselves at great personal risk (and often breaking the law to do so), the brave men and women profiled in This Is Ohio are mounting a grassroots effort to combat ineffective and often incorrect ideas about addiction and instead focus on saving lives through commonsense harm reduction policies.

Opioids are the current face of addiction, but as Shuler shows, the crisis in our midst is one that has long been fostered by income inequality, the loss of manufacturing jobs across the Rust Belt, and lack of access to health care. What is playing out in Ohio today isn’t only about opioids, but rather a decades–long economic and sociological shift in small towns all across the United States. It’s also about a larger culture of stigma at the heart of how we talk about addiction. What happens in Ohio will have ramifications felt across the nation and for decades to come.

Genres:

This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America

by Jack Shuler

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America, Jack Shuler
This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America, Jack Shuler
This title is due for release on November 2, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America, Jack Shuler
This title is due for release on November 2, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America, Jack Shuler
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
This Is Ohio: The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America, Jack Shuler

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.