Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Dawn Turner

Narrated By: Janina Edwards

Date: September 2021

Duration: 11 hours 46 minutes

Summary:

A “beautiful, tragic, and inspiring” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) memoir about three Black girls from the storied Bronzeville section of Chicago that offers a penetrating exploration of race, opportunity, friendship, sisterhood, and the powerful forces at work that allow some to flourish…and others to falter.

They were three Black girls. Dawn, tall and studious; her sister, Kim, younger by three years and headstrong as they come; and her best friend, Debra, already prom-queen pretty by third grade. They bonded—fervently and intensely in that unique way of little girls—as they roamed the concrete landscape of Bronzeville, a historic neighborhood on Chicago’s South Side, the destination of hundreds of thousands of Black folks who fled the ravages of the Jim Crow South.

These third-generation daughters of the Great Migration come of age in the 1970s, in the warm glow of the recent civil rights movement. It has offered them a promise, albeit nascent and fragile, that they will have more opportunities, rights, and freedoms than any generation of Black Americans in history. Their working-class, striving parents are eager for them to realize this hard-fought potential. But the girls have much more immediate concerns: hiding under the dining room table and eavesdropping on grown folks’ business; collecting secret treasures; and daydreaming about their futures—Dawn and Debra, doctors, Kim a teacher. For a brief, wondrous moment the girls are all giggles and dreams and promises of “friends forever.” And then fate intervenes, first slowly and then dramatically, sending them careening in wildly different directions. There’s heartbreak, loss, displacement, and even murder. Dawn struggles to make sense of the shocking turns that consume her sister and her best friend, all the while asking herself a simple but profound question: Why?

In the vein of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, Three Girls from Bronzeville is a piercing memoir that chronicles Dawn’s attempt to find answers. It’s at once a celebration of sisterhood and friendship, a testimony to the unique struggles of Black women, and a tour-de-force about the complex interplay of race, class, and opportunity, and how those forces shape our lives and our capacity for resilience and redemption.

Genres:

Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood

by Dawn Turner

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood, Dawn Turner
Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood, Dawn Turner
This title is due for release on September 7, 2021.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood, Dawn Turner
This title is due for release on September 7, 2021
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood, Dawn Turner
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood, Dawn Turner

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.