We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Maurice Carlos Ruffin

Narrated By: Dion Graham

Date: January 2019

Duration: 9 hours 42 minutes

Summary:

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white

“Stunning and audacious . . . at once a pitch-black comedy, a chilling horror story and an endlessly perceptive novel about the possible future of race in America.”—NPR

LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE, THE PEN/OPEN BOOK AWARD, AND THE PEN/FAULKNER AWARD • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND THE WASHINGTON POST

“You can be beautiful, even more beautiful than before.” This is the seductive promise of Dr. Nzinga’s clinic, where anyone can get their lips thinned, their skin bleached, and their nose narrowed. A complete demelanization will liberate you from the confines of being born in a black body—if you can afford it.

In this near-future Southern city plagued by fenced-in ghettos and police violence, more and more residents are turning to this experimental medical procedure. Like any father, our narrator just wants the best for his son, Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. The darker Nigel becomes, the more frightened his father feels. But how far will he go to protect his son? And will he destroy his family in the process?

This electrifying, hallucinatory novel is at once a keen satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. At its center is a father who just wants his son to thrive in a broken world. Maurice Carlos Ruffin’s work evokes the clear vision of Ralph Ellison, the dizzying menace of Franz Kafka, and the crackling prose of Vladimir Nabokov. We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.

Genres:

We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

by Maurice Carlos Ruffin

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

We Cast a Shadow: A Novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
This title is due for release on January 29, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
This title is due for release on January 29, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.