The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones


Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
433
Narrator
54
Release Date
October 2014
Duration
21 hours 22 minutes
Summary
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring all-new material from George R. R. Martin!

If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.

This in-depth audiobook is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.

Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros, and 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book.

The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Brandon S

An absolute must read. George R. R. Martin is most definitely the Tolkien of our time .

Profile Avatar
Reed Starnes

Wonderfully illustrates GRRM's World of Ice and Fire series. The identity and point of view of the characters are so heavily defined by the history and culture of the lands they hale and this book provides that all important background in rich detail. A must read for anyone following the series. Roy Dotrice is again superb with a refreshing counterpart in Nicholas Guy Smith reading the illustrations and footnotes.

Profile Avatar
Kori J.

Yes this book is hard to listen to if you're not a huge fan of the books. The narrator is great and I wish he would narrate all books everywhere, I love to listen to him. The book is dry but after listening to all the books it's interesting to hear how things started!

Profile Avatar
Micah D.

Anything to keep me from thinking about Winds of Winter. Some very familiar material, but it definitely help broaden your understanding of ASOIAF. Very broad scope, and it’s fun to look at fiction from a historical perspective. Read the whole (current) canon before reading this or you will be lost!

Profile Avatar
Shane Kendrick

Really good way to learn all you need to know about ancient Westeros in a clear and chronological way. Pictures are nice in the hardcopy but that is to be expected absent in audiobooks.

Profile Avatar
Timothy Rafferty

Awesome! I Love Roy, he does all George RR books and he's absolutely awesome!!!

Profile Avatar
Jeremy Buwembo

Huge Fan!!

Profile Avatar
Kenneth Casebolt

If you've read the book series, this is a great companion book to listen to the back stories in one place.

Profile Avatar
Angelah

I love this series. Can’t wait for the next one

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

awesome book

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Good, good Story to start. but the readers are a bit Blah. Otherwise #DigginSh**

Profile Avatar
Rodnry L.

Awesome book and of course the narration was bang on- Godspeed Roy Dottice GOT books won’t sound the same without you

Profile Avatar
David B.

Great stories, worth a listen.

The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
This title is due for release on October 28, 2014.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
This title is due for release on October 28, 2014
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$30.00
View Cart